Tuna agrodolce

I’ve had so much fun with my blog I thinks it’s time for me to tell myself to “get a room with food”. I really love cooking.

This recipe is a spiff up of one of my childhood favorites. Tuna, onions and vinegar. I can still vividly see my mom searing batches of tuna. My mom always (and to this day) has cooked tons of food. I suppose that my mom wanted to be ready incase the national guard stopped by at the exact same moment as the army showed up ready for dinner. You get the picture,there was always more than enough.

This is a single serve recipe

1 tuna steak
1 medium yellow onion
Evoo
Canola oil
1/4 c flour
1/4 c balsamic vinegar
1 tbsp sugar
1 tbsp capers
1/2 tbsp kalamata olives slices
Salt and pepper.

Heat a sauté pan, meanwhile slice the onion in half, then slice the halves in slices. Add evoo to the pan, brown the onions , about 5-8 min. Add the vinegar, sugar reduce down the sauce by half. Stir in the capers and olives

20131003-203902.jpg

Heat another pan, add canola oil, dredge the tuna through the flour. Shake off extra flour. Add to heated oil. It should take 3 min per side for rare tuna

20131003-204055.jpg

Plate the tuna on top of the onions and enjoy !!

20131003-204206.jpg

2 comments

Leave a Reply

